Thread: 45/70 question

Default 45/70 question

If you had $200 bucks to spend on updating a Marlin 45/70 what would you do? And if you lived in anchorage where would you get the work done?

I'm thinking of new sights with that fibreoptics so it's bright.
    Trigger work.

Pretty much it.
    Any ideas are welcome!! I am not that experienced a gun person. I've always owned and used stock guns. So b/c of that I don't know squat about gunsmithing or options. Thank you very much.

Mold and a lead pot.

45-70 is one of those calibers that screams cast for me. Can't you hear it, there it is again. You just got a new mold last month.

Necessities: 1. Recoil Pad. 2. New Trigger. That about covers your $200. There are custom Marlins at the Sportsman Show

Hey! If I look thru this empty beer bottle, I think I can see Russia from here!!!

I have to agree with Beer:30 on that one! Spend you $200 on casting equipment and reloading components and go have fun. If its a Guide Gun, I would probably change out the sights and in my opinion the Brockman sights are the most rugged. The triggers on mine are not bad enough that I have bothered to do anything with them. The WWG Bear Proof ejector is not a bad mod. although I seriously doubt that it is really nessisary.

Go forth and sling lead!
    “You’ve gotten soft. You’re like one of those police dogs who’s released in to the wild and gets eaten by a deer or something.” Bill McNeal of News Radio

Thanks! I thougth about casting myself and will look into doing re-loading and casting.
    I don't mind the Kick of mine really so not sure if a recoil pad is needed. I've only shot a couple hunred rounds mostly at 320 grain though. Come to think of it some of the really hot bullets might need a pad. Something to think about.

Mine isn't the guide gun it's the "long" rifle. Only 3 inches longer than the guide gun though.

Thanks for the help.

Hey! If I look thru this empty beer bottle, I think I can see Russia from here!!!