Thread: Kayaking Adventure

Default Kayaking Adventure

I want to plan a kayaking trip this summer, maybe a few days in length, just to get somewhere remote, quiet, and try something new. I have a lot of experience in the backcountry of Alaska, just very little experience in a kayak. Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.

Default remember

Those places you treked around in Alaska and said to your self,,, man I wish i had a kayak to go explore that place?
    There are more lakes in alaska than there are people.
    Most of Alaska Rivers are Class one, or class two, so lots of options there.
    I Myself enjoy moving water in kayaks, unless I am in the ocean, or a large lake.
    The Kenai offers a few rivers that can support easy Kayaking.
    the Kenai river and the Kasilof river.
    although not extremely remote. they are good paddles and have fairly flat water, and easy portage around the few fast waters.
    the Canoe trail system is a great place to get away and Using light kayaks is getting more popular in the past few years. i suggest a trip down the Swanson river for an overnight trip,or a long 12 hour paddle in one day.
    or the west entrance to Moose river bridge with seven portages between lakes and then a 8 hour paddle down the moose river,this is a great 3 day trip, or longer if you wish to explore and fish along the way.
    Max
    When you come to a fork in the trail, take it!

Rentals for Canoes, Kayaks, Rafts, boats serving the Kenai canoe trail system and the Kenai river for over 15 years. www.alaskacanoetrips.com

Canoe,
    Thanks, I thought about doing something out of Prince William Sound or Seward, I've been out there (in both areas) quite a bit in a Zodiak and have always seen kayakers and thought that would be a cool way to go.