Thread: Bear baiting, Friday creek ??

Default Bear baiting, Friday creek ??

This is my first year baiting. I think, thought, I found a good spot around Friday Creek but now that I think about it I thought I've heard that someone lives out around there. If so, I don't think AF&G will allow my bait site because it will be closer then a mile from the cabin or house. I've rode all over out there for the last 2 years and have never came across a cabin in that area. But a mile is a big area.

If that doesn't work out I was also wondering about baiting in the Bird Creek, Chugach management area. Is this allowed in 14C? I've been through the regs and haven't found anything saying yes or no.

This is my first year baiting and trying to find a decent spot seems to be the hardest thing.

I tried stopping by AF&G today but they are closed for Seward Day so that didn't work out so well. I have to work tomorrow so I might just list all my questions and ask them Wed. when I go down there.

Any help is greatly appriciated.

Jarrod

I don't run a bait station, so I may not be 100% correct of some of this - but I'm sure someone will chime in if not.

If you can bait at Friday Creek without breaking the 1 mile regulation (which I think you can), you won't be alone. There are a number of people who have shared on here that they bait in the Knik area, so I can only imagine that there are lots of others as well. As for 14C, I seem to remember that you can't bait there, but you should double check with F&G.

Are you set on baiting somewhere that you can ride an ATV? My brother and some friends of his ran a bait station for a number of years that was in a non-motorized area that they hiked into. They carried the bait a little over a mile off the road and were very, very successful. It took a little more work, but they were all alone and within a two hour drive of home. Might be worth looking into walk-in areas instead.

Default The cabins are