Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: best loads for 338

Default best loads for 338

I know this is always a matter of debate, and depends a lot on what your gun shoots best, but what type of factory ammo do you think is best in 338 win. for brown bears? I am kind of partial to Federal Premium, and am thinking about trying the 225 grain Barnes TSX's. I have heard some positive things so far, but am not sure. Any thoughts? I have personally used the 250 grain Nosler Partitions with great effect. Do you think the 250 grain bullet offers any real advantage over a 225 grain bullet, or vice-versa? I do like that the 225 grain bullet offers better velocity and a flatter trajectory. Are there any "High Energy" loads out there that offer a little more power than standard loads?

Thoughts, comments, suggestions?

I have some experience with the Federal 250 HE loads, I am not sure Federal still catalogs them. They went through my screens at a touch over 2800 FPS if memory serves me correct, a nice touch over the 2660 that is standard. Nosler partition slugs. I have not been able to duplicate this velocity with handloads. The Federal load is accurate in my rifle. Groups range in th 1 inch range give or take a trife, plenty accurate for ANY big game that I know of. I was so impressed that I bought 10 boxes!

I have not killed any game with the triple shocks. My experience with the original X bullets was not too good, very little expansion. In all fairness I have decided to try the TSX but have yet to pull the trigger on an animal.

On the other hand I have no doubt about the Nosler partition, they have always worked superbly on every animal I have taken with them.

Happy shootin!