Thread: 209A for T/C muzzleloader?

Default 209A for T/C muzzleloader?

Hello. I just recently purchased a T/C 50 Cal. Omega muzzeloader. I am new to the muzzleloading scene and was wondering if I could use the 209A shotshell primers or do I need to use a 209 shotshell primer. Is there a difference between the 209 and 209A? Any help would be great.

Thanks,

CubeCove

Default 209-209a

I was told the 209A primers were better than the regular 209 primers because the 209a will give a more complete burn- quciker ignition and thus better performance. I did not see any difference except that the 209A were a lot more $$$. Being the skeptic I am i think the 209A primers are a marketing ploy but hey I could be wrong-- been wrong what 20 times already today why not once more-lol

I used the regular 209 primers starting out in my Omega. Then I switched to the Remington Clean Bore primers. They reduced the fouling a bit, I notice no difference in ignition time. I was using loose powder and not pellets. I doubt you'd notice any difference in ignition time with pellets either. Cost are comparible.

Thanks for info.

Default More info

Cube- FYI you will get the best results from your Omega by. 1. running barrel dry- no butter like for Hawkens. 2. Use Pellets. 3. Use sabots your manual should have load information at the back- if you don't have that information call Thompson and they will send it by email or USPS.

Quote Originally Posted by BZep10 View Post
    Cube- FYI you will get the best results from your Omega by. 1. running barrel dry- no butter like for Hawkens. 2. Use Pellets. 3. Use sabots your manual should have load information at the back- if you don't have that information call Thompson and they will send it by email or USPS.