Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Free hunting and sport fishing licenses for active members

Default Free hunting and sport fishing licenses for active members

"An Act providing for free hunting and sport fishing licenses for
    active members of the Alaska National Guard;............

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/g...=25&bill=HB137

Totally, completely 100% against it. Most guard members are part time, (and I don't see in this bill they differenciate), and make decent money both as a guard member and their other life. A lot are guard technicians, who make excellent money as WG, WS or GS employees. The bill also makes a "different class" of citizens.

If we're going to go down this road, then let's give free licenses and tags to police officers and firemen as well, as they're putting their life on the line daily for the collective safety as well.

You guys are all correct, As a soldier myself I am totally against this, there is no reason why they need free licenses. This is BS , what seperates them from any other soldier, fireman or law enforcement. All that will do is bump the resident tag prices up for people who have to pay for them......BS, BS, BS

Quote Originally Posted by bowtechshooter View Post
    All that will do is bump the resident tag prices up for people who have to pay for them.
    Solid point. ADF&G's funding comes in large part from license sales. If we remove that revenue, it has to be made up elsewhere.