Thread: 9wt or 10wt for Reds

Question 9wt or 10wt for Reds

I was wondering which rod would work better for Reds on the Klutina a 9wt or 10wt Gloomis G2 fly rod. Thanks.

Ron

Default Too much?

Either of those might be a little too much. We use 6 or 7 wt on the kenai for rainbows and reds. A 9 or 10 wt is good for silvers-kings.

Steve

Default I concur with Steve...

The Kenai strain of reds run larger than other systems' reds I believe, and we (total novices) caught lots of reds last year, doing everything wrong too. I had an inexpensive Cabela's 8 wt and it handled EVERY situation, good & bad. My buddies then got their own 9 & 10 wt outfits and I thought those to be heavier and somewhat more difficult to use than the 8. Plus the 8 seemed to have more sensitivity (crucial to red fishing). I am by no means a qualified fly fisherman, but that 8 wt is a pure joy.
    Jim

Agreed... my 8 handles 30#+ kings in the salt quite well, and I KNOW it's got nothing to do with angler skill as I have none with a fly rod! I would think for the smaller sockeye that a 9 or 10 would be overly heavy and may take some of the experience away.

-Case
    M/V CanCan - 34' SeaWolf - Bandon, OR
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Default Alcan Ron

I broke two..........TWO..........9w Orvis rods on reds in the last four years. Really a bummer. They are super sensitive and obviously not very reliable. Soooooooooooo, when they broke, I resorted to the 6w Browning and caught reds for the rest of the season. Go figure. I got ANOTHER Orvis replacement last fall and I'm looking forward to this season to see if I can break another one. The last one broke in two places and neither of them at the joint. For Reds, you can play them fine with a 6 or 7w. The 8 and 9 are really for the silvers. I haven't tried the 9 on a King, but may have to try that this year after reading this thread.

M