Thread: Laketrout recipes?

Default Laketrout recipes?

Caught my first lake trout aT hidden lake about 2 weeks ago,and frankly take pride in my fish and game cooking skills.But i was not happy with my laker when i steaked it out and grilled the 7 lb bugger.Any advise?

Thumbs up cooking that trout

After cooking numerous lake trout in different ways, I have come to the conclusion that if you really want to taste it like it should be, roasting in the oven is the way to go.
    Using whole fish (less head and tail) open up belly side and put down on foil covered cookie sheet. Split fish down backbone and insert onion, garlic, butter, salt and pepper.
    Bake at 325 degrees for an hour (give or take depending on size of fish).
    This is not only delicious, but also very easy. Enjoy!

I have been guiding lakers in the North West Territories for 15 years and have plenty of recipes.
    My favorite is: Dave's Texas Trout
    Fillet trout leave skins on and slash the meat at 1" intervals from top to bottom starting at the head end. Next pour on a generous amount of liuid smoke. Follow with hickory and mesquite smoked salt, spicy mesquite seasoning and tex mex seasoning. Now on the barbeque over medium high heat place skin side down and cover with tin foil, cook until fish flakes and serve with baked beans and potatoes. I usually cook this over an open wood fire on the shore.
    Bonappetit

Default I bake 'em too