Thread: beagle training

Default beagle training

i just picked up a little beagle pup....anybody on here have any tips or anything on training a beagle...getting her to track.....or does anyone have a pack that i can let her follow around....i have never trained any kind of dog before....i live in the valley and would like to get her chasing bunnies early....any info helps...thanks
    "early to bed, early to rise, fish like hell, and make up lies"

Well, I'm no expert at beagles. I thought for sure someone other than a bird dog guy would respond.
    First off. With any good hunting dog you need to have a solid foundation of obedience. All the basics of sit, stay, come when called, walking on and off leash and proper socialization with other people, dogs and situations. Remember you are in charge. So if there is a behavior you don't want. Correct your dog for it so that behavior doesn't become a habit.