Thread: Looking to Plan a trip in Summer of '09

Default Looking to Plan a trip in Summer of '09

Hello,

I am new here so bear with me. I am a college senior attending the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. I'm majoring in Fisheries Biology. Upon my graduation my dad and I are looking to do an Alaska fishing trip. My biggest desire is to tangle with a big Kenai King. I'm an avid musky fisherman here in WI so I'm no stranger to big fish, but would really love to tie into a monster king. I've caught my share of kings here in WI off of Lake Michigan as well as in the rivers when they run here. I would also like the opportunity to fish multiple other species such as Hallibut, sockeye, dolly's, and maybe a rainbow or three. I've done some digging a bit on the internet as to places we'd like to go to. I came across this site and must say I'm pretty impressed in comparison to some of the other sites. http://www.greatalaska.com/

Has anyone had any experience with this place? Or are there some other places anyone would recommend? Any information/advice anyone would like to provide for me for our search would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Mike Bolinski

Default Additional King fishery

I know the Kenai is a great fishery but So is Clear Creek. I went last year with Matsu salmon charters. It was cheap $120, and the fishing was great. I caught a 41 pound king and saw plenty more. Very good experience. Good luck!

Default Its all about your buget

You can spend a lot of cash if you want or you can find a small cabin to stay in then do lot more ventures. You will get more for your dollar. Do a combo trip in the saltwater for halibut then go after kings on the same trip. We have done well with the bid kings in june-july by the anchor river. Anchor point area offers what I am talking about. And its not far from homer or kenai river. You can find good guides for a reasonable fee. http://www.clivesalaskafishing.com/ guides for combo trips