Thread: Scope Lapping???

Default Scope Lapping???

Been doing some reading on scope mounting. Was wondering how important is it to true the scope and mounts to the action. How do you do it? Has anyone lapped their rings and saw improvements. Seems that it would be a critical part of the shooting equation to me, thoughts....

Steve

Default Always

Years ago when I started shooting bench rest my mentor was an accomplished shooter and felt it to be imperative for accuracy.
    Since those days scope companies have come out with self-aligning rings and gadgets to do the same thing. I still lap mine the old fashioned way and use the same alignment bars.
    Lapping may not be considered nessacary by everyone BUt it has NO negative effects on proper scope function, so it doesn't hurt anything.
    It might help reduce damage to a high end scope or its finish though and that alone is worth the effort.
    Scope lapping kits are available from Brownells and are resonable, I tend to use an automotive valve laping compound at first followed by the compound in the Brownell kit.The valve lapping compound can has 2 grits which reduce lapping time, I then clean those off and ue the fine grit in the kit.
    You'll notice right away all rings aren't machined round, and they aren't machined smooth either.You'll see small bright rings appear where high spots were cut by reamers.
    " Americans will never need the 2nd Amendment, until the government tries to take it away."

On the road of life..... Pot holes keep things interesting !

Default lap rings and bases