Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to hunting...need scope suggestions

Question new to hunting...need scope suggestions

Im pretty new to hunting, and my boyfriend just bought me a 3006. It needs a scope and i honestly just have no idea on where to start when it comes to finding the right one for me. In need of suggestions!

Don't know how much you want to spend but I would say get something with fairly decent eye relief. Save yourself alot of hassel and get a Leupold VXll 3x9 in you can afford it.

til later

Default suggestion

Get a new boyfriend, one who will give you a scope with your rifle,

But in all honesty I'd probably get a fixed 4 or 6 power scope. Most major manufactures make them, Nikon, Lepould, Bushnell, and they are reasonable, usually under $200. The best part about these are they are idiot proof, just look thru it.

I'm a big Leupold fan, You can spend as much as you want. To go inexpensive, lots of good deals out there on 2x7 and 3x9 variex II or VX IIs. Also I have had great luck with a Burris 3x9. Wholesalehunter.com usulally has a web special or two where you can get one with a spotter or set of binos for~$200. I would stay away form anything lower end than these though. Good luck!

I would say for best value go with a nikon or best scope a zeiss. I have owned a few high end Leupold scopes and now that I own a zeiss I would never own another. As far as value I have seen a buddy nikon and ben more inpressed than my $1100 leupold. Sorry not trying to bash anybody. Everyone has there prefrences. When I bought my last scope I narrowed it down to a couple and I spent probably a hour comparing them at the sports shop before buying. The big things I look for in a scope is clarity close and long range and the scopes ability to see in low light. What I would do if I was you is figure out what power you want (3x9 would probably be great) and what you want to spend then just go look through them and find what you like best.

Default Scope