Thread: Satellitephones

Default Satellitephones

I am new to the yard here and will be getting a new Hewescraft and thought it may be a good idea to look into Satellitephones. I would think it is a good idea for many reasons other than hunting. What are the thoughts out there and what works and does not work in AK. Thanks T

Quote Originally Posted by sweepint View Post
    I am new to the yard here and will be getting a new Hewescraft and thought it may be a good idea to look into Satellitephones. I would think it is a good idea for many reasons other than hunting. What are the thoughts out there and what works and does not work in AK. Thanks T
    The iridiums are the only way to go. Probably the foremost authority on them and the provider with the most options for calling plans is the Surveyors Exchange in Anchorage. They are a great idea, and even though they are a bit of an investment upfront, if the time ever comes where you really need one, they're value would be beyond any description.

You can find decent deals on ebay and then get Surveyors exchange to help you set up the calling plan, or you can get on the list for used phones from Surveyors exchange (smarter option in my opinion) if you want to avoid the full smoke retail price.

Default Motorola

The best overall performance from a Sat Phone seems to be from the Motorola series. The original Motorola Iridium was the 9500 model, it was upgraded to the 9505 model, the newest of the line is the 9505a model.
    Accessories on these models don't all interchange, but service is available for all models.
    Service is avalable via a pre-paid SIM card or via a calling style plan kind of like a cell phone. Check out the variables at Surveyors Exchange.
    " Americans will never need the 2nd Amendment, until the government tries to take it away."

On the road of life..... Pot holes keep things interesting !