Thread: Spot selections, how should I pick mine?

Default Spot selections, how should I pick mine?

I see a lot of new guys asking where to go..... Kind of presumptuous....

I'm asking; how do you guys pick a spot to work?

What kind of material should be on the bottom of the stream? Is there a color in particular? Is it a sandy base I am looking for? Do I want a bend in the river? Do I want a cut bank? Should I stick to gold rush tailings for powder?

Also what is your favorite means for initial looking? Do you pan it for a test or do you sluice it to give it a real good look before deciding to move on?

I have some spots I want to try next year but I'm a fisherman not a panner by trade and I was wondering how you guys might read the water.

River Runnin

Seward, AK