Thread: Fishing the Gulkana

Default Fishing the Gulkana

I'm not very experienced at fishing in AK nor elsewhere for that matter. I want to target some kings this year and I have heard that the Gulkana River is the place to go. I don't have a boat of any sort. How accessible is it for shore fishing or wading?

Also any tips on tackle or gear for those Kings?

Rifle River MI

Default I'll Bite

The Gulkana offers access from the Richardson Hgwy Bridge up to Sourdough Landing for bank fishing.

Things to consider:

Bridge Downstream to the Copper Flies only
    Bridge Upstream no restrictions until you get above the Westfork.

Timing 6 June - 19 July Peak 12 June - 12 July IMO

Access with ease Lower River - Richardson Hgwy Bridge if above the high water mark Ahtna Permit required i.e. Land Use fees. f you walk along the South side for a mile or so you will find a couple of good holes to cast for kings with bate.
    Access below the bridge on state easement nothing.
    Sailors Pit about 6 miles up from the Bridge Native land use permit required but great access.
    Gulkana River RV Park - Use fee and Camp ground becoming more popular year to year a couple fo decent holes to fish but expect company during Mid to late June.
    Poplar Grove State owned a little hike down the hill and your fishing.
    Sourdhough Landing BLM I do not believe there is a day use fee as of yet ( lots of power boat traffic.

Set can be simple and cost effective - Standard Med / Heavy action 7-8ft Ugly Stick Bait Cast or Spin 25-40 LBS P Line will get you in the ball park. Lots of snags i.e. rocks to hang up on. Standard Corkie or Spin and Glow with a fair portion of cured salmon eggs. You will want to set it up with a tri-swivel and drop weight.
    If spin fishing look to Vibrex size 5 or 6 just about any color.
    Last year we had good sucess fishing Slip Bobbers and Roe in the deeper holes that allows you to avoid a lot of snags.