Thread: New to cast bullets

Question New to cast bullets

I've been reloading for about 12 yrs and have only done jacketed bullets. Recently I found some hard cast 250 gr .44 bullets that I want to load for my Ruger SR in 44 mag.

When I opened the package I couldn't believe how much lube was on the bullets. They felt tacky and it seemed excessive. But like I said this is my first experience and I don't know if this is normal or not. Do the bullets require any further prep or are they ready to go as is?

I appreciate any input on this matter. It's like learning to walk all over again.

Default easy

Quote Originally Posted by yogibear View Post
    I've been reloading for about 12 yrs and have only done jacketed bullets. Recently I found some hard cast 250 gr .44 bullets that I want to load for my Ruger SR in 44 mag.

When I opened the package I couldn't believe how much lube was on the bullets. They felt tacky and it seemed excessive. But like I said this is my first experience and I don't know if this is normal or not. Do the bullets require any further prep or are they ready to go as is?

I appreciate any input on this matter. It's like learning to walk all over again.
    I have never noticed any problem from lube on the base of the bullet fouling powder, so I don't worry about it there. In the course of seating excess lube "squishes" up out of the case, and every so often you can build up enough in your seating and/or crimping die to require disassembly and cleaning. It takes a lot of loads before that occurs, in my experience. The remaining lube on the nose of bullets is a downright mess. I use a hunk of paper towel to wipe down the loaded rounds before boxing them. I don't like excess bullet lube on the outside of cases, for fear that it will interfere with the case's ability to grab chamber walls when it expands. Therefore I'm wiping both the case and the bullet noses after loading.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.