Thread: Different shots

Default Different shots

I am new to photagrahy as a hobby so please provide feedback, good bad or otherwise.

Thank you.

I'm a lousy critic, but it doesn't seem anyone else wants to do it, so here goes.

First two don't have any particular subject of interest other than the play of light which isn't compelling enough in these shots. Had you put a dog, or even a big hunk of ice, in the foreground they would be more interesting. Also, the first one is too centered horizontally. Usually off centered images have more visual tension which makes them more interesting. But you didn't make the usual beginners mistake of centering them vertically, so two points in your favor.

I kind of like the third one of the ice. Here the large hunk of wood or rock (upper right of center) and the large hunk of ice (lower left of center) are off centered, and yet nicely balanced. The other piece of ice in the lower right corner is distracting though. I might like this shot better if the lens hadn't been tilted up. This makes for a fairly strong keystoning effect, which sometimes works, but I'm not so sure it does here. Conversely, a fisheye view of this might have been more interesting, but then there is no accounting for my weired sense of taste. Also, I would have lightened the shot just a bit and moved the color balance to be less blue. You can do both of these changes in your computer.