Thread: Advise needed from Experienced Bear Hunters

Default Advise needed from Experienced Bear Hunters

I know all the arguments about what cartridges and bullets to choose since I have heard them for 40 years since I was hooked on reading everything I could get my hands on about hunting. Where I need some serious advice is the rifle and action itself. I hope Winchester will not be off the market long but there are some other controlled round feed rifles like Kimber and others that I have zero knowledge off. I am looking for a new rifle and my question is about the reliability of the different factory rifle actions or would it be better to try for a budget minded custom or semi-custom rifle. I really would appreciate any help in steering in the right direction here. What do I need to look for in a bear rifle and what do I need to stay away from? I am new to this Bear hunting thing so I need the council of those who have been there and know not only what to choose. Thanks to all those who take the time to help me as you just might save me from making a fatal mistake!

Rocky / Paparock

What do you have in terms of medium and big bore rifles right now? Are you looking for a new rifle that you're going to designate as your "do-it-all" bear hunting rig? If so, then I'd look for a stainless/synthetic model 70 classic action or rifle.

You can still find a 300 Win. Mag. or a 338 Win. Mag. chambered in the rifle I mentioned above. Buy one and take it to a gunsmith and have him adjust the trigger and "slicken up" the action. Maybe have him replace the factory stock with a good fiberglass stock like McMillan and get the lugs lapped, action trued, and the stock pillar and glass bedded.

Hard to beat a setup like that.

Bethel, Cantwell, Fort Yukon, Skagway, Chevak and Point Hope

The Ruger M77 MKII is available in 338 and 300 Winny. Or you could go with the Ruger M77 RSM in 375 H&H, 458 LOTT or 416 Rigby.

You could try the CZ550 line of rifles.

The Kimbers are nice.