Thread: Newbie vehicle prep

Default Newbie vehicle prep

Hello all. I'm a newb in this forum and did a quick search, but didn't see much. I assume you guys already know this stuff so you wouldn't talk much about it. I'm heading that way from MD in late September to Fort Wainwright. Will I need tools and extra parts for the truck and oil/block/tranny heaters that time of year. The truck's new and I'll be coming in through Edmonton/BC/YT. Thanks for all the help.

You won't need heaters to get here during September, but you should always have tools on board. To get through the winter, you do want to have an engine block heater installed. In September, you might seen an occasional visit by jack frost on some nights, but it is still just Fall. Canada runs always suggest a good spare tire and a tire plug kit. A 12v air compressor goes with that package. And make sure you don't have anything on board that's going to cause problems at customs as you cross the border twice. A little common sense goes a long way.
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

Thanks for the info. I was beginning to think no one knew the answer. Never thought about needing more than one extra tire.
    Anyone else is welcome to pitch in.

Default Another thought

If not included with your new vehicle warranty or insurance policy, you might want to have towing coverage added for the trip. Additionaly, you may want to begin your trip with a fresh oil change and carry an extra quart with ya. If your pickup is a diesel, I suggest an extra fuel filter and tools to change it in case you get a tank of dirty fuel along the way.

What a great way to break in a new rig.

Default Let me go into a bit more detail...

This particular forum is a little off the beaten path, so a lot of folks may not have seen it to respond. Maybe I can help a little more as I've got a LOT of time on the highways in Alaska over the years.