Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bear Protection

Default Bear Protection

In that there seems to be a wealth of experience in this forum, I would like to get some opinions.

I will be going fishing to Prince of Wales Island (NE) in May. From my research it looks like the there are a lot of Black Bear, but not Grizz---am I correct? I want to bring along a handgun and have been looking hard at a S&W Mod 29,.44 mag, 3" ported barrel in either bright stainless or satin stainless.

I was thinking that the satin finish might hold up better against the weather, but the price between the two is minimal. I carry a gun for a living and shooting most any caliber is not a problem. I am also looking for factory loads and would like some recommendations on brand and bullet weight. Corbon had some Deep Penetrators which were not hard cast--anyone use them?

Again, this is strictly for defense on POW Island. I will not even entertain any kind of spray.

You are correct, no brown bear on POW. There might be a few unstable residents though. grin

Go with the satin, less glare and IMHO looks better.

kingfisherktn

.44 Mags have killed a lot of bears, but maybe not quite as effectively as many of today's offerings ...While there are still folks who carry a .44 around, most round up to something a tad bigger. .44's are easier to shoot and to get second shots off while the bigger guns are more effective on the first shot.

The best compromise between shootability and effectiveness is the .480 Ruger. The recoil from the .480 is not much higher than the .44 Mag, but the larger caliber and bullet weight give it more knock-down power ...very close to a .454 Casull. It's a good choice for black bear and I'd pick it hands down over the .44 Mag. BTW, I own or have owned .357 Mag, .44 Mag, .480 Ruger, and .500 S&W, so I'm speaking from experience that clearly brackets your target range.