Thread: Help getting started

Default Help getting started

I want to get started into bowhunting and archery and am looking for any advise that can be given concerning choosing the right bow, accessaries, and arrows. I found what seems to be a decent web site (www.huntersfriend.com) that gives guidance on how to choose a bow based on ISO speed, axle-to-axle length, brace height, draw weight, draw length and let off. What should I be looking for and should I choose a bow based on speed or forgiveness? Also, are "Ready to Hunt" bows a good choice? I know there are a lot of questions here, but any help in getting started would be appreciated.

I'm pretty new to archery as well. I found archerytalk.com to be very informative. Check it out. Lots of great information.

Dave

Take a look at this link on compound bow selection.

Paul from The Archer's Den directed me to do some reading at that link before shopping, and it helped tremendously. I'm still struggling with which bow to pick, but at least I know what I'm looking at.

first two things is set the predijuce's aside, and second, figure out how much you have to spend. Consider it an investment, or in my case I have many investments lol. Seriously, once you find the right bow you'll likely not buy one for a long time to come. Bows today have become like automobiles. Most are pretty comparable in most departments. Finding the one you like (ford chevy toyota etc) is going to be up to you going out and shooting some. Finding guys who have them and "test driving a few" if you will. While I may like brunettes you may like blondes and the guy over there is nutz about readheads....hopefully that's clear as mud.