Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: tips for haul rd?

Default tips for haul rd?

I am very new to bow hunting and i have only been in Alaska for two years. I am putting together a trip to get a caribou probably at the Haul rd. Any tips you might have to get me started would be great. i just got my first bow yesterday. a Diamond Rapture, drop rest, lighted pin sight, stabilizer, and some other stuff. I have shot a little but i am basically starting from nothing and have about 5 months to get ready. i am joining the Black Sheep Archery Club on Elmendorf so that will help alot. When is the best time to go to the Haul rd., what do i need to do to be legal, what should i look out for? I don't want to break any of the infinite laws that alaska has either. any help i could get would be amazing. how many hunters are up there around the end of august? i have been reading alot of the posts on this thread and they are very helpful, you all seem to really hold a wealth of knowledge about hunting that i would like to have someday. thanks for reading.

Theres a ton of good info, but I noticed you said lighted sight. Check the regs as that is not allowed in AK.

As for the haul road goes. My best tip is bring more gas than you plan to use. The bou are some times hard to find and you have to drive alot. Be paitent. wait for the group to come to you. If you hike a little off the road you can get away from the people and the road hunters.

Oh you have to have your bow cert as well!!

Do a search of the haul rd. here. You will come up with allot of info that

Q.When is the best time to go to the Haul rd.,

A.It changes from year to year. Most people will head up Aug Sept time frame.

Q.what do i need to do to be legal
    A. Bow Cert card from fish and game.

you are doing the first thing right by asking question..

Also practice long shots. 40 yard shots. on average this is what most people take one at.
    Living the Alaskan Dream
    Gary Keller
    Anchorage, AK

Default Haul rd