Thread: Bears In Katmai?

Default Bears In Katmai?

This is my first post here. I really enjoy this forum. I have been reading and learning alot about Alaska in the last few weeks.

I am headed to the interior of Katmai for an extended bout. I have read the bears along the coast are pretty used to seeing people, but what about the interior bears? I will be doing alot of walking around alone heading to Rainbow Trout holes. Is the area primarily open, or heavily wooded and bushy?

I have been told I can't carry bear spray on a plane, and plane is the only way there, so I am going to bring a 454 Alaskan.

I am not paranoid about the bears, but I do want to be prepared.

Thanks in advance,
    Richard

Default Common Sense

Will take you much farther than any weapon will. I have been running around the rivers and woods here for over 26 years. I stopped carring a weapon for the most part (i dont when fishing but do have a backup bowhunting) about 15 years ago. I do make alot of noise when hiking about, lots of bad I mean really bad singing or whistling. On long open trails it is not so bad but blind corners thick brush im pretty loud. I have carried a hand held air horn that has seem to work well. Food in my pack is always sealed up, if keeping fish fillet them right away and seal them up, Depending on where your going you might be able to pick bear spray up there also.
    Grandkids, Making big tough guys hearts melt at first sight

Thanks for the info Chuck. I am familar with the steps needed to make the bears aware of your presence. Trust me I will be making noise, and I won't be wacking through heavy brush. I am also working on hiking with my head up. I have a habit of looking at my feet.

I was just wondering how the interior Katmai bears were tempered versus the coastal bears. For example I have read the bears around Denali are fouled tempered, and the coastal bears a little more tolerant of people.

Thanks again,
    Richard

Default Katmai bears