Thread: Which Rangefinder?

Default Which Rangefinder?

I'm looking at the Leica rangefinders. Which one between the 900LRF and 900CRF would you guys recommend. It will be going on a sheep hunt, among others.

Is the LRF too clunky?

I have no experience w/ either one, and want to move up from my Bushnell and Leupold. Will I gain enough to justify the extra money? Thanks for the help.

Wasilla--Cantwell Transplant

I own the 900 LRF. Its a great rangefinder that seemed to collect a lot more light than some of the others I've tried. Another big bonus with it is that when you range something, the sight and the numbers that pop up are bright red, not black, so its very easy to read. If I were to buy another rangefinder, I definitely would not buy a flat model like the LRF's. Its just too hard to hold steady with one hand out beyond, say, 200 yards, compared to the upright models (like the CRF). Other than the red numbers, leica makes better optics than bushnelll, in my opinion. On the other hand, if the bushnell works great, I'd say keep it.

Is the LRF still being produced? Either way, it seems for sheep hunting the winner is the compact, lightweight CRF. Other than the high price, I haven't read any negative views on this model. The glass is good enough it can be used as a monocular (so you could leave the binos at home and just have the rangefinder and spotting scope).

I have not used the LRF in the field but my sheep hunting partner has a CRF 1300 and man is that thing nice. If you get an LRF make sure you get the LRF Scan. They have the same "guts" as the CRF's as far as the ranging goes. That crf ranges 1300 yds right now. I mean BAM. We got it to range further if I remember right. It didn't seem to matter what the target was. I have a Nikon Monarch Laser 800. About the same size and shape as the crf. I prefer that style and size over the lrf.
    A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and donít have one, youíll probably never need one again