Thread: Loads for a 338 SHORTY

Default Loads for a 338 SHORTY

Just wondering if anybody has any good recipes for a 250 grain bullet coming out of a 19.5" 338 win mag? I've got on a kick lately for short barrels after seeing a custom 35 whelen with a 18.5" tube. My 338 is a Remington 700 KS Mountain Rifle. I kept the stock 24" barrel, didn't want to hack it up, so I am having a new 19.5 installed. Should be back from the smith in a couple of weeks. I know I will lose some velocity but shouldn't be to severe with a faster powder like RL15. Thanks for any info.
    LIVE TO HUNT....HUNT TO LIVE!!!!

Default 338

I have a Md 70 338 mag that I have been shooting for over 30 years that sports a 20" barrel. It started out as a back up for bow and handgun hunting. Over the years it turned into my main hunting rifle. The loads that I am currently using are: Sierra 215 with 72.1 grs H4350; Barnes 225X with 67.5 of IMR 4831; Sierra 250 with 73.0 of H4831 and Speer 275 with 68.5 on IMR 4831. None of these are hot load but all shoot 1" or better at 100 yards as long as I do my part.
    Good luck with your shorty barrel. I hope that you enjoy yours as much as I have enjoyed mine.

Default Velocities

Quote Originally Posted by AK Bearcat View Post
    I have a Md 70 338 mag that I have been shooting for over 30 years that sports a 20" barrel. It started out as a back up for bow and handgun hunting. Over the years it turned into my main hunting rifle. The loads that I am currently using are: Sierra 215 with 72.1 grs H4350; Barnes 225X with 67.5 of IMR 4831; Sierra 250 with 73.0 of H4831 and Speer 275 with 68.5 on IMR 4831. None of these are hot load but all shoot 1" or better at 100 yards as long as I do my part.
    Good luck with your shorty barrel. I hope that you enjoy yours as much as I have enjoyed mine.
    Thanks for the info Bearcat, have you chronographed the sierra 250's or the speer 275's?

Default Rl15