Thread: Fishing on the Kenai-kings???

Cool Fishing on the Kenai-kings???

I am new to fishing in Alaska, more of a hunter. I have been moose hunting near Lake Clark twice, went on a day trip across the Cook inlet for salmon and dolly varden. Haven't been there when the kings were in the Kenai. I am going on a spring bear hunt in Prince William Sound and want to get to the Kenai around June 6. Can I catch fish there on my own or do I need to get a guide?? I ahve seen suggestions to buy gear from a place called Trustworthy Hardware. What do I need, although I am sure they can tell me. Thanks in advance for any help.
    Mark

a guide will make your odds way better, but thats not hard to do when the odds are against you anyway.
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Go ahead and buy the gear that you need but I suggest hireing a guide for your first time. When I moved here I was not used to fishing rivers or salmon and it took me more than 40 hours of fishing to land my first king. Go with a guide and lear the right lure/presentation combo, then strike out on your own.
    It ain't about the # of pounds of meat we bring back, nor about how much we spent to go do it. Its about seeing what no one else sees.

http://wouldieatitagainfoodblog.blogspot.com/

If you want to do it on your own I would drive 15 miles past the Kenai and fish the Kasilof river for kings. At that time of year you will have a much better chance to bank fish for kings on the Kasilof then the Kenai. I second the motion that Trustworthy Hardware will help you with gear and advice.

Default Agreed

Quote Originally Posted by tcman View Post
    If you want to do it on your own I would drive 15 miles past the Kenai and fish the Kasilof river for kings. At that time of year you will have a much better chance to bank fish for kings on the Kasilof then the Kenai. I second the motion that Trustworthy Hardware will help you with gear and advice.