Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best 338WM SS Package?

Question Best 338WM SS Package?

Best package or another package worth the difference in cost?

I ‘ve read (this site mainly) and estimated prices (Able Ammo, Cabelas) for rifle/scope combo for Fall float trip, hoping for moose and caribou. I am new to hunting and looking to gear up with tools that will last.

Here are the combos I’m considering (below). Rifles would all be 338WM, stainless w/ synthetic stock. I’ve penciled in some scopes to estimate total package prices - to compare the good vs better vs best tradeoffs (if I spend more on the rifle, there’ll be less to buy the scope with).

Option A: seems to like a sound combo for value + quality. Hunters here seem to find the Ruger durable and accurate. It offers controlled feed, reliable extractor design, a reliable, steady performing rifle overall– with good resale value if needed.

Options B and C seem to offer advantages in aesthetics and engineering (smoother action) and maybe better resale value (not many available used). Friends and others I respect have chosen these rifles. I’m just not sure about the reasons to spend the extra money.

Would you pick “more gun” for “less scope”? I would appreciate your thoughts – if there are differences you think I might miss, especially in the field with “just” the Ruger and a very good scope? Thank you in advance.

Option A: Best package:
    Ruger M77 Hawkeye with a Leupold VX II, 3.5-10X50 (or similar), maybe $1000 total.

Option B:
    Kimber 8400 Montana with Leupold VX II, 3-9 X 40, approx $1400

Option C:
    Sako 85 SS with Leupold VX I, 3-9 X 40, $1600 neighborhood

I bought a Tikka T3 Lite in 338 WM and a VXIII 2.5 X 8 and love it (put a different recoil pad on it). They guarentee MOA at 100 yards. I liked it so much I bought my daughter the same gun in 25-06 (but blued) and a VXII 3 X 9. I'm sold on this gun. Looks nice and can't beat the price. I paid about $800 for mine.