Thread: Question for Bfish

Default Question for Bfish

Bfish, what is your take at the Board of Fish meeting. We did not have time to talk. Maybe we can before the next BOF meeting. I would like to discuss your model in a scientific discussion. I was an author of the paper you referenced - there may be obstacles that cannot be overcome for an inseason management approach but it may be worth the try.

Anyway, I assume KRSA is not happy with this Board meeting results but from my perspective they just brought the groups back to the middle ground and reestablished that escapement goals are more important than windows but they did outline how they see windows working. I think that was a positive for all user groups.

Any comments.

Talking A reply to two questions

I am still working to reslove the problems that were generated by the most recent BOF. Buy the time the next one comes around this will have changed one way or the other. Commercial interest has to realize that their hayday is over. There are to many chamceing to few fish. The originators of the limited entry program new that this day would come, that why they set up the review process for determining how many can make a living in a given fishery. But this is just like everything elese in Cook Inlet those involved and anyone in a position of authority is not concerned about doing what is right or this problem would of been resolved years ago. I wrote this the other evening and apparently didn't get it posted.