Thread: Rookie Fly Fishing Questions

Default Rookie Fly Fishing Questions

I will be trying fly fishing on the Kenai this summer and want to know if a 7 or 8 wt. rod will be good enough for the reds. If so would that also be a good all around for steelies and bows? Also, I am a complete novice to this so can someone tell me what the difference is between a tippet and a leader? And what are some good knots to use when connecting the line to a leader...being an engineer I like my Uli knots but if there is something better please tell me. I seek wisdom. Thanks!

Default Wow Options Options Options

Great questions with a ton of options depending on your style of fishing IMO. Your at the I have to have stuff stage I miss that about fly fishing be careful your vest stoarge capabilities will soon be tested :-)

Back to your question:

Knot options WOW to be honest IMO it depends on you decide to rig for fishing. Some people call me crazy but I like the standard Berkly Fishermans (iImproved Clinch) knot for everything. I almost always use a loop connection system to my fly line which is listed below. It is not the strongest knot however for basic fishing it works well, ties fast, and is easy to clip off. Loop, twist 4-5 times, thread the line back through the loop, get wet and tighten. Thre are many options heck I have an entire book of knots, but again simple, fast, and easy fit my methods of fishing.

You build your Leader from Tippet Material. Back in the day and still you can build several styles of leaders from your tippet material. For smaller fish i.e. those under 10 lbs I general use an shock tippet attached to my main leader.

You can use Orvis Braided loop connectors to attach your line which will allow you to go for the most part knot-less by looping your leader back through your braided loop connector. There are also other manufactures of such products to include Cortland and Umqua Just visit any of there web pages.