Thread: Partner wanted for Aug. Kodiak Deer Hunt

Woodland, CA

Default Partner wanted for Aug. Kodiak Deer Hunt

I am looking for a partner for a Do-it-yourself deer and possibly Caribou hunt on Kodiak Island. I have done this hunt 3 times previously and have a quality area in mind. I am a teacher and must squeeze this trip in before school starts in Mid August so we'd have to be there on August 1 - 12 to get plenty of hunting in. Great fishing is also available any time you want to take a break from hunting.

I can explain all the logistics from what equipment you'll need, to gettting it all up there. I have flown with 2 excellent flight services, and have the motel and sat phone rental under control. I've hunted Alaska self-guided 7 times now as a non-resident. I am primarily a bowhunter, but do take a rifle too. My style of hunting is mostly independent but it's nice to have someone else around to split the costs and share the adventure with. I do bivy out away from camp on occasion so you would need to be comfortable with the possibility of being alone for a night or two. If you have ever dreamed about hunting Kodiak, shoot me a PM and letís talk! Here is a summary of the costs for a trip to Kodiak for fishing, deer and caribou:

Fishing License $50 (one week)
    Hunting License $85
    Deer Tag $150
    Caribou Tag $325
    Hotel Rooms $111 (2 nights at $111 split 2 ways)
    Bush Flight $989 Last year each including meat haul, $836 without)
    Tip for pilot $100
    Phone rent & ship $75 (each, calls not included, $1.80 per minute)
    Extra baggage fees $150 (1- 50# bag going up, 2 coming back at $50 each)
    Commercial Flight $700-1000