Thread: Loads for .375 Whelen Ackley Improved

Default Loads for .375 Whelen Ackley Improved

Had a custom rifle built in .375 Whelen AI with 40 degree shoulder. Scoured all the reloading manuals and the web for both fireforming and working loads. Not much available.

Anyone have experience working up loads for this cartridge?

Appreciate hearing your experience. Thanks.

You can use the loads made up for the .375 Weatherby on Hodgdon's website. If you have the opportunity, you can find loads in Ackley's book "Handbook For Shooters and Reloaders".
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Default Ackley

Ackley's book is the ticket , but you have to be careful , some of the loads listed are HOT .

I loaded these for a pardner's custom .375 Whelen Improved or as he liked to call it his "poor man's magnum". Here are two loads:

270GR Hornady SP
    58 grs IMR 4064
    Remington 9 1/2 large rifle primer
    Remington Brass (formed from necked up 35 Whelen Remington bulk cases, never tried any necked up 30-06 cases)
    Average Velocity 2420 fps

300GR Hornady BTSP
    54grs IMR 4064
    Remington 9 1/2 large rifle primer
    Remington Brass
    Average Velocity 2185 fps

These loads were fairly accurate, consistently turned in 1 moa 3-shot groups. I believe accuracy could have been improved with a little more tweaking but load development was effectively terminated when the shooter's desired level of accuracy was achieved. This rifle is built on a trued Remington action, 24" Shilen select match SS 1-12" twist barrel, McMillan mountain rifle stock.