Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rod Cases

Default Rod Cases

Hello All, I will be making my first trip up in aug. from NY. I was wondering if anyone Knows of a good rod case to carry 2 spinning rods and reels (1 8' 6" 2 piece salmon rig and 1 light rig).I would love to be able to carry on and save the extra checked baggage space for the ride home. Any other tips would be greatly appreciated.

Default Rod Cases

Check out Cabela's. I like the Magnum rod cases for all my sticks. Another trick is to duct tape a couple of rod cases together.

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...entId=cat20166

These are pretty much the toughest I seen, next to aluminum.

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...325&hasJS=true

I have been guiding in the far north for 15 years and these are pretty indestructable. Don't worry about checking it in though. If you need the extra checkable luggage on the way home just duct tape it to your box of fish or duffel bag etc. This system works great!
    Make sure that you have tags on both pieces just incase the ramp boys get a little rough on it.

Thanks guys for the info.. I did'nt think you could get away with the old duct tape job, good to here that that you can, much better than carrying it on.
    God Bless, Jeff

Default Case Length

Make sure you check with the Airlines on how long the case can be, sometimes it is considered over sized if it is more than 60" long. I carry mine on and I hink it is 52 " long. My father checked his and they opened it up to look inside and broke the tip of one of his poles, be safe and carry it on.

Default Possession is nine tenths of the law...

I always carry mine right onboard with me. They are bundled with tiny bungee cords. Slip them on a hanger and cover with a jacket if you are riding First Class. If you are in coach make sure they are the last item that goes into the overhead above you and the first item to get out.