Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fiberglass vs aluminum... why?

Default Fiberglass vs aluminum... why?

Alright, I'm heading off to the boat show later this morning. I'm new to the boat world and want to know what's the deal with fiberglass vs aluminum.

Seems to me that you can save thousands going with a fiberglass....

Suggest accomplishing a search. Tons of information about the differences and the preferences on this forum.
    Good luck.
    Tennessee

Emu,

You are totally right. Around 24-26 for al aluminum you are looking at 70-100k. I've found a new Parker 23 with extended transom and trailer for 55K and a Seasport 24 extended transom for 69K. I really like this 23' Wooldrige boat at 66K it is 11K more than the 23' Parker and that is hard to argue.

Fiberglass boats are usually heavier and tend to ride better, they tend to be warmer as well... but you have to wax them and some charter guys argue the gel coat can crack over time.

Usually ligher weight with the same power will have better fuel economy.

I have 2 large uniflites and love them to death. My wife grew up with an aluminum boat and loves to beach it at our cabin and goes beachcombing so guess what the next boat to my fleet will be?

I know for a fact that many people who want aluminum say they want to be able to beach it and then they never do. You aren't really going to beach a larger aluminum boat with any regularity... especially if it is a cuddy cabin with a high bow.

When at the boat show and find aboat you have to have ask for a test drive make it part of the purchase agreement, and then get a test drive on the opposite alum of fiber boat.

From what I've seen some of the 22' aluminum boats are nothing more than a glorified skiff and a 22' fiberglass is really more of a boat.