Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fire but no heat

Default Fire but no heat

I ran into an interesting situation. My landlord heats with wood. Not unusual but the woodstove does not get hot! It does get warm but barely heats the house. The stove looks okay as far as seals and everything goes. I replaced the damper in the stove pipe. The stove is made for an 8" pipe but is necked down to 6" just above the stove. Wood burned is typical birch and spruce.
    I'm no expert on anything but have never encountered a woodstove that wood be so cool with a good fire going.
    Manufacture is unknown but looks very typical. I offered to install a barrel stove I'm not using and block around it but the idea was shot down.
    Anyhow if anybody could tell me why a stove like this would burn so cool when everything (cept the downsized stovepipe) is in order?
    Inquiring minds want to know!

How much wood are you burning in how much time? Is the wood seasoned? What are the flue temperatures?

Sounds weird!

I wonder if your stove is drawing as much as it should. Our garage stove is a newer, more effecient design. It takes a long time to heat up, but stays warm longer which, I understand, is inherant in the design of the newer stoves. It does seem as it could do a little better, however. The original stove had 8" pipe, but we joined the 6" pipe of the newer stove into the 8" about 5 or 6 feet above the stove. I've heard a stove pipe that's too wide will make the stove not draw well, I'm just wondering if there's any guidelines as to what is lost if a smaller pipe is joined to a larger one, and if it makes a difference how far up they're joined. Anyone else have any thoughts on this? Thanks....Louis

might check the stove pipe. being necked down like that it will plug up faster then the 8" pipe. causing the air intake to be low and half smothering the fire and keeping it cool.

does it smoke allot?

Default This n' that...

Reuben