Thread: Tire Help

Default Tire Help

I have been reading the tire posts trying to figure out what I need. I am new to the 4x4 game and need some adivce. I recently bought a 1999 Suzuki Quadrunner 500. It seems to have tons of power. However the power was useless when I got stuck in some deep mud. I got more winching experience than I wanted.
    I not a hot dogger and usually try to find the driest way to get somewhere to hunt, fish, and explore. However going anywhere in Alaska seems to involve getting through some nasty mud holes first. I would like to minimize my winching time in the future. I got a good deal on some Carlisle Badlands XTRa radials. They are better than the stock tires. They are great on the trails, but they seem to plug up in the gooey mud. Maybe anything would have.
    What do you riders in South Central Alaska like for a good trail tire that does not leave you stuck in the mud? Should I consider going with a taller or wider tire? I would like to stay with the stock rims. Any advise would be appreciated.
    Patrick

I use Kenda mud dawgs. same style as the wooley boogers of old. They work great plus they are cheap.

Granted they are not the ITP's or mudlites etc, but I go where they do. I cant complain.

Thumbs up Wider and taller....

In this case, bigger is better! Your bike should have enough power to turn 1-2" taller than stock tires without any problems. Usually the front tires are 8 or 9" wide so they steer easier. If you have problems with the front end diving into holes then go with the 10" fronts and 12" rears. I recently bumped my 6x6 tires up to 1" wider on the rear and 2" wider on the front. I couldn't go taller because of clearance issues with the tandem rear axles. These are the tires I ended up getting -

http://www.swamp-witch.com/