Thread: Different Type of UHMW Sleds

Default Different Type of UHMW Sleds

I mentioned in the other thread, I have been building "Siglin type" UHMW sleds for about 20 years, and if I could only own one sled it would be that type. I have hauled everything from 55 gal drums of fuel to 16 foot 2X6's in those sleds. But a couple of years ago I put together a couple of sleds that are unique in their design and uses. I'll try and string together some pictures and answer any questions you may have.

This first sled was put together with one 10' sheet of plastic, using wood sled runners that I get from Cold Spot Feeds, in Fairbanks. The sled runners make it fast and easy to put together, but adds to the cost, of course. We use this sled to haul four wheelers, broken down snowmachines, 55 gal drums, and lumber, etc. It is a workhorse!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Additional Pic

I have had good luck using the 3/4" x 11/2" UHMW runners on these larger sleds. I originally had three runners on this sled and added the others after the first trip and it seems to run better with the big loads.

Default Rolls Royce of Sleds

I built this sled two years ago, using the white (non-UV) UHMW because that is all I could get at the time. Once again I used wooden sled runners as a "base", on the sides, and used countersunk stainless screws, and construction adhesive to hold it all together. I used Ash (from Superior Hardwoods, in Fairbanks) for the staves along the bottom. I made this sled just wide enough for 55 gal drums. It will hold four drums, but three full drums is over 1000 lbs and is plenty to pull, especially up hills. The hitch is made to flip both ways, to accomodate both "flapper type' and pentil type hitches. Once again, I used UHMW skegs. I also attached another hitch to the back, so that I can pull tandem sleds, if they are not too heavy.

Default Latest Sled