Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Exercise for Moose Float Hunt

Default Exercise for Moose Float Hunt

Wondering what type of exercise anyone would recommend to prepare for a float hunt for moose. I am 46 and have literally started swimming 2+ miles 4 - 5 days a week. I am in better then average shape, my biggest concern at this point is packing out a rear moose quarter from a moose not shot on the river, 150 +/- lbs will make for a challenge.

A friend of mine has recommend Russian Kettlebells – anyone have experience with these – they look somewhat interesting for getting fit for “hunting expeditions”.

FYI - this is my first time posting - I have been lurking for a while. Picking and choosing advice for a 2008 float hunt. There has been some great advice and I have found answers to almost all my questions about gear and don't expect anyone to post answers about their favorite hunting spot. Based on the advice, my hunting partner and I did a practice run with our gear during a canoe-in deer hunt in northern Minnesota - limited ourselves on weight, food, etc, even tested the our back packs carrying the 100 lbs of deer we quartered in the woods back to camp (I bought a Barney’s Pinnacle, he bought a Cabelas Outfitter – so far we are both happy.) Best hunting trip we have had because hunting life became really simple again and it has opened us up to endless areas with no other hunters

I'm a 58 yr old fat man with arthritis, a bad back, and a bad heart. I do a float trip everyother year. They are a lot easier than my other trips where we go in on ATVs. We have four rules. 1. Don't shoot it in the water. 2. Only shoot Moose on the banks, or near the river. 3. Shoot only shoulder shots. 4. Use a big enough gun to break it's shoulder so it can't get to the water. The rest is to just float and enjoy.
    Gun Control means hitting your target.