Thread: Techniques, time savers

Default Techniques, time savers

I'm far from an expert on dipping, been doing it for a few years now, and have made some observations over the years, and keep tweaking my technique.

I think most folks who haven't done it think you just put your net in the water, scoop em out, and nothing to it. Not quite that simple. Also there are plenty of times when the fish aren't where you are, and your net stays empty. My first ever time out to the copper I came home tired and fishless, but did meet an old timer that calls himself Copper River Gary, and he was kind to give me pointers from his 30 years of dipping, and shared some smoked salmon with me. It's folks like Gary, a real character, that make Alaska special.

When you do get into a slug of fish, you need to be prepared to deal with them efficiently, as time processing the fish is time with your net out of the water, and they come in slugs, so you need to get your fill while the slug is coming through.

I've dipped solo and it is alot of work, if you can bring family and friends to help process fish, life is very good. Remember, every helper has to be a resident.

You should have a fish bopper and knife close at hand to stun and bleed the fish, and something clean to put them in. On the copper I took the net off my landing net come dip net and ran a line through the top to cinch it into a bag. Fish are bopped, cut a gill arch and drop them in the bag to keep em cool and bleed em out in the river. On the Kenai, I've had the family with me, and as soon as I untangle a fish, it's bopped and an arch torn, and my wife or kids gut it, clean the dirt off in the river, and use a snow sled to pull them up to the coolers, left right by the droppoff. If you try and pull your entire catch from the rivers edge you'll swear you'll never do it again.