Thread: .44 mag reload

Default .44 mag reload

I am looking for the stuff to reload .44 mag. Where should i go to get the supplies or is there anyone that is selling theres. Any info would help I am new to the whole reloading thing.

Thank all

Do you have access to the shops of the big cities or do you have to rely on the USPS/UPS?

You cannot order powder or primers by mail/ups.

Bullets and brass and presses and dies can be delivered to your door, but you still need powder and primers which means one of the many shops here and there or one of the conglomerate stores.
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?

Default Getting Started Handloading

Buy a (or preferably, more than one) reloading manual (I started with a Lyman book and a Speer as backup) and read them both for their discussion of the how-to steps.

I also started with the guy who sold me my press watching over my shoulder as I loaded my first 56 rounds (a box of .38s and 6 .357s) to make sure I did not blow myself up, load a powderless cartridge or set off a primer in the press. There is nothing like a tutor.

There are instructional videos now that did not exist in the '70s.

Load mid-range velocities or slightly light at first so poor ignition or overpressures are not concerns. Just concentrate on getting the steps right and being VERY VERY consistent (charge weight, crimp strength, seating depth, primer seating force, all that)

Keep the static electricity under control, wear eye protection when loading and don't pinch your fingers in the press.

Good luck.

Default Look for a starter kit

I bought a starter kit from RCBS over 30 years ago and used it for thousands of 44 loads before I added other components.
    I'm sure there is someone in your area that will give you a hands on look at how to. If you are in Fbks give me a shout, I reload a couple hrs a week lately.

Thumbs up Sportsman Warehouse

Sportsman Warehouse