Thread: Powder experts?

Default Powder experts?

So I'm a newbie to reloading and am trying to learn all I can. Powder is very interesting and somewhat confusing, but I am learning. In this day and age of "super duper never been anything better ya can't live without this stuff" marketing there are "new" powders. Well, just how "new" are they? I know technology and innovation can sometimes make better mousetrap but how much can you really do with powder? Winchester has/is coming out with their Supreme 780 ball powder which they claim is the same powder used in their Supreme ammo. They are kind enough to offer this to us now so that we too can load the same supreme rounds they do. Well, I know my factory winchester supreme ammo shoots but just how supreme is it?

"Winchester Supreme 780, a ball powder, is designed for those wanting an easy-metering propellant that emulates popular factory loads. Tim Vaitekunas, Hodgdon’s director of R&D, notes that “Supreme 780 allows the handloader to duplicate Winchester Supreme factory loads."

And then there is the new Hogdon 100v with "short-cut sticks with rounded edges". "Hybrid 100V’s unique small grain, part Spherical, part Extruded shape benefits the handloader in two ways — the powder flows accurately and easily through a measure, and charge weights are consistent for ideal load density.”

Does this mean none of you have ever been able to get consistent charge weights and ideal load density??? How did you ever do it???

http://accurateshooter.wordpress.com...d-supreme-780/

What say you all? Educate me.
    A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and don’t have one, you’ll probably never need one again

Hey! If I look thru this empty beer bottle, I think I can see Russia from here!!!