Thread: Marsh Fork Canning Float Hunt

Arrow Marsh Fork Canning Float Hunt

I thoroughly enjoy this Board and visit it daily. Many of you have shared much valuable information on numerous subjects and I greatly appreciate your insight.

Since I am new to this Board, allow me to introduce myself. I am an avid outdoorsman who is pushing 40 but still in great physical condition. I grew up in MT and hunted all the big game species available in MT for 25 years before moving to AK last year. I am new to float hunting but have been heavily researching (I have found the prolonged winter darkness allows me plenty of time for this ), making lists, and have begun acquiring gear specific to the above hunt. I have set up my finances so I can do one and only one hunt of this caliber each year, so this is it for me in 2008.

The reason I selected this particular area for my first float hunt is I worked in a north slope village last summer and spoke at length several times with the pilot of a local air taxi service. I also spoke with several hunters that were on their way in to hunt sheep, but unfortunately none were float hunting. The discussions I had with the pilot are what gave me the bug to try the above float hunt for sheep and caribou. My research has shown the stretch of river to be Class I to II so the actual float should not be a problem aside from the question of whether or not the upper stretches will have enough water to minimize "float dragging". For me, success on this hunt will be giving it everything I have, enjoying the experience from start to finish, with bringing home my first AK big game animal simply icing on the cake.

My questions as of now are:
    - Have any of you float hunted this section of river? IF so, do you have any pointers for me?
    - What number of other hunters should I expect to encounter?