Thread: Remington model 720...

Default Remington model 720...

Is anyone familiar with this rifle? If so we need to talk.

I went in to a book store last week and was perusing through a book of stories and good pictures of the Vietnam war. In one of the pictures was an unidentified shooter (soldier, sailor, marine) with a Remington model 720. The rifle was not identified but I recognized the gun. I couldn't believe it. I studied it for a while to be sure and it was a 720. Has anyone ever used such a rifle in the military arena?
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?

I ran into a sniper in a small village out side of Chu Lai who was using one. I don't remember all the circumstances except he loved his weapon.

kingfisherktn

Murph: I need to regroup it was a 721.
    Last edited by kingfisherktn; 01-15-2008 at 09:18. Reason: added info

Quote Originally Posted by kingfisherktn View Post
    I ran into a sniper in a small village out side of Chu Lai who was using one. I don't remember all the circumstances except he loved his weapon.

kingfisherktn

Murph: I need to regroup it was a 721.
    Yeah, I too have seen the 721 but my picture was of a 720.
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?

Until recently, the Secy of the Navy gave Rem 720's out as Trophy rifles to Sailors and Marines. Most of the production was bought up in 1942 by the Navy. I think the last one was given out in 2000 or so to the High Navy rifle Shooter at Camp Perry. I have seen them and touched them, never used one. SON's continue to give out M1 Garands, some of which are M1 Mark II Rack Grade and Mark II Match Brade B's

GNG had one in 257R in the early 80's, stock had been cut down, but the gun was in wonderful condition. I recall Remington only made about 400 of the 257 Roberts . Another one that got away; of course I was broke from buying too many other good deals.

Default Rem 720

Murphy,