Thread: Questions to ask an Air Service

Default Questions to ask an Air Service

I am in the process of trying to pull together my either a drop camp or float type hunt for caribou for either 08 or 09. I have never used an air charter before. The trips I have done have been either guided or did not require the use of an air charter. When I call the air charter to, what types of questions should I ask. Having never used this type of service, I'm not sure what questions to ask. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Default Preliminary Info...

Hey Frankie,
    That was a nice moose you got a couple of years ago! Before getting into specific questions, it would help to know more about your hunt plans…
    How many of you will be going, and for how long? That might help narrow down the type of trip and type of planes you might need or use.
    In general, you’ll need to ask about load capacities for the planes you charter, how they typically handle weather delays, their preferred method for keeping in touch with their clients, do they accept cash only or credit card as payment, can they handle large duffels or need things packed in smaller bags, how they might handle mid-hunt meat pickups, and how they require rifles to be transported (hard case or soft case).
    It might be easiest if you check out a couple of air taxi websites first, they usually have FAQ tabs that cover a lot of the typical questions they get.

Default Air questions

Frankie,
    I have used a master list before you call em. Every you thing you do is make sure you get it in writing! What type of plane, weight capacity,hourly charge,years in operation,client refrence list,will they be checking on you, is there a possibility for a move if no animals,good phone numbers while in the field via sat phone. I am sure there is more but its a good start. Good luck to ya.

Smile replied on Pristine Ventures