Thread: Browning lightweight 81 lever action

Question Browning lightweight 81 lever action

My friend had never hunted prior to this past fall, but I took him out to harvest his first moose and he had a great time. His father just gave him the above rifle chambered in .308 as a gift. My friend asked me what I thought. Other than the caliber, though, I haven't got a clue. I have no experience with lever action guns, nor with Brownings.

Thoughts?

They are well made and generaly accurate rifles. Set him up with some 165gr partition loads and send him into the woods.

Good to know. Thanks!

I agree!

The more your friend shoots that combo, the "better" it's going to get. I hunted so many years with a 308 lever (a Savage 99, in my case), that it's still my goto setup inspite of a lot of other guns in the house. As we often say, it's where you put the bullet that counts, and that's a pretty fine "putting" setup in my book.

I'd hesitate to hunt brownbear and grizzly with it, but wouldn't be afraid to defend myself with it. For everything else you can poke holes in up here, the 308 is just fine.

Hey! If I look thru this empty beer bottle, I think I can see Russia from here!!!

I have never shot the newer BLR with the pistol grip and aluminum receiver, but for years I had an older one in 243 win that was made in Japan. That was a great looking and good shooting rifle. Sure wish I still had it! As mention in earlier posts, I don’t think I would go looking for big bears with it, but for everything else within reasonable range it should do great!
    “You’ve gotten soft. You’re like one of those police dogs who’s released in to the wild and gets eaten by a deer or something.” Bill McNeal of News Radio

Default Browning #81 lever action