Thread: Lead prep

Default Lead prep

I'm new to reloading ...so new, that it's all just a pile of money converted to hardware at this point. Hoping to have the bench finished this weekend.

That said, I look forward to casting and making my own bullets ...like later on this year sometime, not as a first task. I was lucky enough to score an agreement with a local place (top secret!) that apparently didn't have anybody else knocking their door down for wheel weight lead. I've got about half a 5-gallon bucket full so far and will go back next week for more.

So 3/4ths of this stuff has road dirt on it and what not. I don't have my Lyman lead casting book yet (sent to wrong address, now resent but not received yet). I'm assuming that the metal clips get fished out of the pot when the lead is melted. Anybody have tricks up their sleeves for how to prepare or clean those dirty lead weights? Wire brush and a bucket of detergent water? What're you guys doing?

thanks,
    Brian

You might want to check this forum out:
    http://castboolits.gunloads.com/

And thank your lucky stars for the free wheel weights.
    Tennessee

Thanks, I'll check it out. And yes, I stopped by a number of places ...each either had an agreement with some company to pick the stuff up and didn't want to give it to someone else, had an agreement with someone locally who wanted them, or had an employee that grabbed all the weights. This place that I went to didn't seem to have a clue on what someone would want wheel weights for (which means they haven't been harassed by reloaders yet) and said I could have all I want. Works for me