Thread: rmk running rich...

Default rmk running rich...

it seems my sled has some throttle issues... '01 RMK 700...

it feels like its running a little rich... slight hesitation and sputtering at lower rpms... but once I pin the throttle down that baby wants to go! I also seem to burn more gas than my buddies I'm riding with.

I'm new to this whole sled-thing so I'm not too familiar with all the mechanics yet but I'm not afraid to get dirty either.

any advice would be appreciated...

Its always a scary thing to tell somebody to lean out there machine. but i would think about dropping the needle a click and get a main jet chart and check to see if you are in the ball park with the mains. I ride a 03 800 and i re jet the mains quite often and i was having a similar issue last weekend with my sled so i was debaiting dropping the needles but i just road it instead.

I agree, dropping the needle position cleaned my 700 up considerably. Just be careful and check the plug condition a few times after you make any adjustments. Another thing to check is your oil injection setting. There is an alignment mark on the oil pump swingarm and on the housing that should line up when throttle is in the idle position. It's easy to adjust and you can even lean out the oil SLIGHTLY by positioning the mark on the swingarm to the inside of the mark on the housing. This cleaned up some low end bobble for me. I also put a boost bottle on my sled but I had done some other mods so I can't say if it really made much difference.
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Default Drop the needle position?