Thread: 416 Rigby

Cool 416 Rigby

Does anybody have any info on this round? I just purchased a 416 Rigby barrel for my Encore Pro Hunter was looking for some info. Also looking for some brass and reloading data. Thanks

I have a lot of experience with this round but not with an Encore pro hunter. Please tell me that is a rifle barrel.

The Rigby is expensive to shoot and expensive to load for. Brass is about $2.00 each, there aren't many cheap bullets and it uses about 115 grains of 4831. You cannot down load it very well. It is a butt kickin' round in field performance but it has a down side.

When loading for it care must be taken to prevent bullet seating from collapsing the neck into the shoulder. This will bulge the case at the shoulder dimension and prevent a round from chambering freely. That 45 degree shoulder is not the best design. It is a classic old round and it's legendary field performance led to other good calibers to duplicate it's ballistics. The 416 Remington will do it but at much higher pressure than the Rigby and it has the associated ills of that pressure level in warm climates. You could have a 416 Murphy with none of these draw backs.

(I just had to get a plug in for my own 416.)
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?

Murphy,
    Yes it's a 28" Fluted Pro Hunter rifle barrel. I knew it was expensive to shoot before I bought the barrel. I already have a set of dies for reloading. I just need to get some brass for it now.

I was looking in one reloading manual (Barnes I think) and if I remember correct it said 88 grains of IMR 4350 was a accurate load. I will have to go back and buy the manual. I need a newer manual anyway because mine does not have the 416 Rigby. Also do you loose much brass from the shoulder collapsing/bulging?

What is a 416 Murphy? Do you make it in a Encore Barrel? "grin"