Thread: rod and reel combo question

Question rod and reel combo question

I am new at this fly fishing game and am shopping for a rig for silvers..my concern is..can a person put, say a Ross reel on a G. Lommis rod? Dumb question, but it looks a a big investment, so I dont want to screw up. Any advise on size, type, etc. would also be appreciated
    Thanks!

Default You bet!

You certainly could team up a Ross on a G-Loomis, and that would be a formidable setup for sure. But, IMO maybe a bit on the high end for a first setup.

I think an 8wt would be ideal for silvers and could also double as a Red setup as well.

Basically when you match up a reel with a rod, depending on which piece you purchase first you can match them accordingly by size....for instance if you get an 8wt G-Loomis rod, then you'd want a Ross reel that was matched up for 6-8wt rods.

Cabelas has a lot of combos for sale from entry level right up to high end....I might check them out if your still unsure about matching up rod to reel.

-sc

Yes, you can. Pick a rod. Pick a reel. Pick a line. Put 'em all together and go fish. You'll find that several of the quality reel manufacturers do not even make rods - one of my favorite reels is a Teton. And some of the great rod companies make reels that are way overpriced and not that great of quality. From my experience, I never liked St. Croix or Sage reels. Love their rods though. In fact, if Ross makes rods, I've never seen them.

As for size of rod for silvers, how big of water are you going to be fishing? Typically, a 9 footer is fine for just about everything. I've known people to go up to 9 1/2 or even 10 footers for float tubing big lakes, but I prefer 9 foot. As for weight, I'd go with a minimum of 7 on silvers, but if you are new to it, I'd go with heavier or you'll be replacing that broken rod pretty quick. A loomis with a good backbone, you could go with an 8 wt., but for a beginner, I'd recommend a 9 wt.

Default Thanks!