Thread: PMC brass v. Federal/Remington/Winchester

Default PMC brass v. Federal/Remington/Winchester

Counted up my .30-06 empties last night and found that I actually have over 300 rounds that I've saved up over the last year or so (can't find my BIG stash... must've lost it in the move). About 60 rounds are the cheap PMC stuff with the discolored looking necks on them... so I have a couple of questions:

In reloading this mixed pile of brass...

1) I will separate by brand, but since there is no way to separate by lot, should I also separate by case capacity (fill with water and weigh them)? Yes, I'm a newb... all new equipment, zero experience.

2) I'm assuming that loads should be worked up separately for each brand of brass. I will set aside most of the (once-fired) brass and stick with one brand until it's ready for the trash bin. Then I will change brands and start anew (reduce loads by 10%, get the chrony out etc.) Comments?

3) Are those brass PMC rounds ($11/box stuff) any good or should I toss them? I have no idea how their case capacity varies (an indirect measure of how thick the brass is) or if there is a lot of case to case variation, or if the discolored (looks like 'heat' discoloration ...right from the factory) necks mean anything or not. I suspect these are Remington brass cases but they might not be built to the same specs? Comments? Toss'm or use'm?

Thanks,
    Brian

The discolored necks are nothing more than a change in brass color showing the neck was annealed. This is not a defect.

I would separate by brand and if you have an electronic scale I would weigh the cases and toss out the highest and lowest weights just to maintain some type of average. For hunting loads it doesnt seem to make a good deal of difference.