Thread: Archery lessons

Default Archery lessons

Is there anyone out there that does 1 on 1 lessons I mean someone that will sit there and take the time to watch you and not go and sit with his buddy's and jabber away in his office. I would like to get a few lessons to have someone check on my form and see what is going on. I keep pulling my arrows left and don't know what is causing it, It's either not following through or my grip is wrong or my form is just out of wack or my bow is not set up correctly. I am pretty accurate about 75% of the time but it's the other 25% i'm worried about. out of 300 I shoot about 250 to 270. I never sat down and had someone show me I just jumped into it. I did however pass the shooting part of the test with only missing 1 shot in the kill zone. I have a 06 bowtech tribute set at 62lbs. an hha single pin site and wb rest. The bow is strickley for hunting. Thank you for any and all the help you can give

Default grip

I'm no expert but sounds like it might be your grip....sometime when you really grip the handle you create a lot of torque and when you release the arrow it can cause you to pull your shots. If this is the case...try letting the handle rest on the fatty part of your thumb so that you're not really balling a fist around the handle...hope this helps

Richie

Where are you located? Give me a call or swing by the shop ... we'd be happy to give you a hand.

If you are in the Mat-Valley area, go to Fletchers archery in Wasilla. They have been great and will stand on the line with you and watch your every move.

If you are hitting 75% of the time, I would say it is probably something you are doing rather than the bow being out of tune. Grip is a likely cause. If you have a wrist strap, don't even grab the grip (keep and open hand) until the arrow is gone and the bow starts tipping. Also, don't lock your elbow straight out(bow arm), keep a very slight bend to it.
    AKmud